Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

This pertains to the "17 year olds getting Z's" debate...

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2009, 08:19 AM
aduke

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

'89 Volvo 740 - was 16, was my mom's, she got something else... at some point I hit a deer and totaled it

'86 Volvo 240 - probably was 17, maybe 18 when I got it. after the deer. broke down endlessly.

'89 Volvo 740 - 19 when I got it, exact same model/make/color as the first one, drove it until I was maybe 22

'95 Volvo 940 turbo - got this at 22 probably, drove it until I traded it in a week or two ago with 250k miles on it for $750

04 touring Z - well, I graduated from law school, passed the bar, got a sweet job and bought myself a real car. I'm 24.

How is this any more or less legit than anybody else? Again, why does anybody car whether somebody has a car given to them or not, or whether they earned it, or drove enough crappy cars before? Would I have rather gotten a Z (or something like it) right off the bat? Obviously. Would I buy one for my 17 year old kid? Probably not, they'd probably wreck it. Do I give a crap if other 17 year old kids are driving the same car as me? Absolutely not. I imagine there are kids driving much nicer cars than me. My coworkers for the most part drive nicer, or at least more expensive, cars than me.

I mean really, who cares? I can't believe there are 117 pages of this stuff. Did you guys really buy a Z so you could be cooler than the 17 year olds who can't afford them? I bought mine cause I think its a sweet car and its fun to drive, not to prove that I am cooler than a bunch of high schoolers.
Old 04-09-2009, 09:06 AM
batousai