2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

FOUR tickets in one stop!!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2003, 01:09 PM
peptidbond

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FOUR tickets in one stop!!!

Good evening,

To begin with, I have not had a ticket in 4 years and I am a safe driver. Now, on Saturday night, I got four citations on one ticket! Here is the story.

We were leaving one bar and headed to another (yes, I was sober). I approach a light and plan to turn left to go to the highway entrance ramp. Then I saw the "no left" sign and I moved to the right lane. I made a right turn on red to go to the next entrance ramp. This was mistake one. I did not see the "no turn on red" sign.

I proceeded across the bridge at 35 MPH. About 1/4 mile.

I came to a stop at the light and then BAM. A cop came screaming up behind me. I moved over thinking it was an emergency, but he just pulled in behind me.

So, we do the whole stop thing and he gives me a ticket without saying why. I ask and he says "right turn on red where prohibited".

As I am driving away, my G/F reads the offenses to me:
1. 50+ in a 35 clocked via pace (not guilt - see below)
2. Right turn on red where prohibited (guity as charged)
3. No seat belt (DEFINITELY not guilty)
4. No front plate (argh...guilty).

Now, I will freely admit even in court that I did make the illegal turn and that I did not have a front plate. However, the speeding and the belt are insane. First, I always where my belt. And I mean always. Since he could not see if I had it on from the rear, it must have been when he was standing at my window. Of course I had to take it off to get my license out, so I will argue this one. Anyhow, when he was at my window, the car was off. There is no law that says you must where a belt in a parked car.