Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Rear speaker recommendation

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2007 | 08:52 AM
sry110

Default Rear speaker recommendation

I am not an expert on car audio so I need some recommendations from the gurus around here. My current setup is an Alpine CDA-9857 deck driving into an Apline MRV-F450 5-channel amp, powering a set of Boston Acoustics RC-620 front component speakers, originally powering a set of Boston NX-67 speakers in the rear stock location, and one (1) JL 10W7 sub from the 5th channel. I believe the power rating of the amp is 4 channels x 50 Watts each + 1 channel at 200 Watts (for the sub).

I am pleased with the RC-620 components in the front and the 10W7 sub is 'ok'. I don't want to mess with changing the sub because it is shoehorned into one of Nazars enclosures in the compoartment behind the passenger seat. A little more dynamat and eliminating the rattle in the flip-down compartment door should make the sub sound pretty tight. Also keep in mind that when I first had the system installed, the installer neglected to run the RCA from the head unit to the amp's sub channel input, so I had no line level control for the subwoofer output. All I could do was adjust treble, bass and master volume from the headunit. It actually sounded OK so I didn't have a lot of motivation to correct the problem.