Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Where to install a screen?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2009, 08:54 AM
NewOrleans350z

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where to install a screen?

I am having my 2007 Touring Roadster delivered today and want to start doing some research. I plan on buying a double din size screen/head unit (not flip out) to install. Should I do it in the upper compartment where the factory navigation goes (I dont have the factory navigation, by the way), or should I put it in the lower spot where the current stereo is. I would like to be able to get navigation functionality also. Which is easier? Which would look better? I am no expert when it come to installing but I have some experience (did some head unit installation in my first car, then some custom installs on a 97 civic). Any opinions, suggestion, advice would be appreciated.
Old 01-15-2009, 09:16 AM
surfer05rdr

why dont you do both. Buy you a double din radio install it in the factory location then get you either a farenheit or a power acoustik pt700mhr and install it in the cubby. I think it makes a good combo
Old 01-15-2009, 09:19 AM
350z2go

i have this done i love it the top screen is a backup camera that stays on all the time
Old 01-15-2009, 09:35 AM
NewOrleans350z

May consider doing both.

If I only installed one screen, would it be able to give me audio access, navigation, and rear view camera capability? I would be able to install everything and just have some kind of way to switch from different inputs right?
Old 01-15-2009, 10:06 AM
Get_Zwole

Originally Posted by NewOrleans350z
May consider doing both.

If I only installed one screen, would it be able to give me audio access, navigation, and rear view camera capability? I would be able to install everything and just have some kind of way to switch from different inputs right?
It would have to be a double din with nav. etc. for it to work but yea thats what they are made for.