Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Bose head unit 2008 with Bose amp on non-Bose car...

Old 06-21-2016, 01:34 PM
  #1  
jg021v
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
jg021v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 148
Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Bose head unit 2008 with Bose amp on non-Bose car...

So my 350Z came with a regular radio. I upgraded the head unit and got the Bose in-dash 6-cd player. My rear speakers popped after normal use and were replaced with JL's and same went for the door speakers within a couple more months. Now what I want is to provide amplified power to these four speakers and pair tweeters. I sourced out an amplifier stock Bose, but because my 2008 350Z did not come prewired for an amplifier I'm SOL. I do not have a navigation in my car. Tried to contact sonic electronics and researched the forum, too. I think I may need an NIS2 and some harnesses. Can this be hooked up from Bose head unit to the Bose amplifier under the seat bracket? I want this OEM and may not need to add a sub woofer later down the line, so no need for RCA outputs. What'd ya think?

Bose head unit 2008 with Bose amp on non-Bose car...-boseheadunitrear.jpg
Bose head unit 2008 with Bose amp on non-Bose car...-boseamp.jpg
jg021v is offline  
Old 06-21-2016, 05:35 PM
  #2  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,123
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

I think you're nuts. The Bose HU is junk, and anything you install with it will sound terrible compared to even the cheapest aftermarket Kenwood, Pioneer, Alpine, etc.
dcains is offline  
The following users liked this post:
dboyzalter (06-24-2016)
Old 06-21-2016, 06:39 PM
  #3  
jg021v
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
jg021v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 148
Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

I'm not nuts at all. As long as I have SiriusXM output, I'm happy. Just need to power the JLs' speakers.
jg021v is offline  
Old 06-22-2016, 03:24 AM
  #4  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,123
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

How do you get your SiriusXM? Do you have a subscription tied to your headunit, or do you have an online subscription and the phone app?
dcains is offline  
Old 06-22-2016, 04:02 AM
  #5  
jg021v
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
jg021v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 148
Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Default SiriusXM

It's an iSimple piggy back in with a yearly subscription I renew every year. I do have the app, too. It's a good investment.

So how do I get the amp to become wired to my head unit?

Do you have SiriusXM?
jg021v is offline  
Old 06-22-2016, 04:30 AM
  #6  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,123
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

I have a SiriusXM online subscription, so I can listen using my Mac at home or with the app on my iPhone. I plug the iPhone into my Kenwood headunit.

I can't answer your question about wiring the Bose headunit and amp, but I can tell you it's made to work as a system, and won't sound good without the sub and original speakers. And it really doesn't sound good that way, either. If you already have the aftermarket speakers, the best sound will come with an aftermarket headunit.
dcains is offline  
The following users liked this post:
jg021v (06-22-2016)
Old 06-24-2016, 03:00 AM
  #7  
dboyzalter
6 inch cawk is my fave!
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mass
Posts: 6,424
Received 891 Likes on 711 Posts
Default

Ill second that the Bose hu and system will be a downgrade for anything short of a dewalt worksite radio and even that might be a close comparison. Be happy your car didn't come with it... Go to crutchfield and pick out any head unit... The factory bose amp is made to power 2 ohm speakers, your aftermarket speakers are 4 ohm they will not mesh together well.
dboyzalter is offline  
Old 06-24-2016, 07:05 AM
  #8  
jg021v
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
jg021v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 148
Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Bose Amp Addtn.

I may be able to work this out, even with all the PITA feedback. I will try to assemble this.

Bose head unit 2008 with Bose amp on non-Bose car...-350zmolexloom.jpg
Bose head unit 2008 with Bose amp on non-Bose car...-aoemnis2.jpg
Bose head unit 2008 with Bose amp on non-Bose car...-plugsamp.jpg

This will work when splicing the wiring loom, I think so. Including this.

Last edited by jg021v; 06-24-2016 at 07:24 AM. Reason: RAD UNV
jg021v is offline  
Old 06-24-2016, 02:38 PM
  #9  
Spike100
350Z-holic
 
Spike100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Edina, Minnesota
Posts: 7,173
Received 169 Likes on 146 Posts
Default

The PAC adapter will allow connecting the 2 ohm Bose H/U to your 4 ohm aftermarket speakers. You will experience detectable sound degeneration with this setup.

As others mention here, a low end aftermarket H/U will provide noticeably better sound quality than the Bose unit you want to install. If you go with a middle level head unit, you will have many more features and much better sound.
Spike100 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
jg021v (06-24-2016)
Old 06-30-2016, 03:05 PM
  #10  
jg021v
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
jg021v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 148
Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Default progress

oem integration kits came in


So have the looms


jg021v is offline  
Old 07-21-2016, 11:42 AM
  #11  
jg021v
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
jg021v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 148
Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Default You're right BOSE was a headache



I'll go this route.

Have a metra 99-7402 and PAC SWI-RC coming in, too.

Even the FM antenna will need an adapter.
jg021v is offline  
Old 07-26-2016, 04:52 PM
  #12  
jg021v
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
jg021v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 148
Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Default



Had to have SiriusXM, too. Just have to purchase an adapter.

Matches the amber interior!
jg021v is offline  
Old 07-26-2016, 04:58 PM
  #13  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,123
Received 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

Might be less $ to get the SiriusXM app on your phone and just buy their online subscription. That's what I do, and I can use it in multiple cars already virtually anywhere.
dcains is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
HipHop615
Suspension
18
07-08-2016 01:48 PM
nizzzzzmo
Buying/Leasing
13
04-06-2016 06:12 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Bose head unit 2008 with Bose amp on non-Bose car...


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: