Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

My track car build

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2010, 10:08 AM
nkohler

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default My track car build

Hello everyone,

First off I would like to disclaim that I am no expert and do not consider myself the source on anything racing, be it NASA, TA, SCCA or other. This is just my journey in the automotive sport and the build of my car. I have a ton to learn still and am very excited to take myself and my car to the next level.

Background:

Car:
2003 Nissan 350z base
Owned the car since it had 12k miles - currently 60k miles on body, 30k miles on motor

Mods:
Coil-overs, sways, camber arms, ss lines, carbotech brakes, intake, exhaust, oe vlsd, etc...
17in ccw classics with 275 hoosier r6's

Driver:
4 years SCCA Solo2 Autocross
3 years (6 track days) HPDE/PDX

Goals:
Heavy PDX/HPDE use, perhaps some modification to do a TimeAttack or two if the series comes near my area. Eventually I would enjoy getting an amateur racing license. I do not think I will ever race professionally, however at this point it is still a hobby, and comes a few levels down in line as far as priority in my life. But you never know!

On to the build. Up to this point I have done everything myself to the car. The car now is at my cage builder for an 8pt NASA PT/SCCA Touring legal cage. I will be updating this as I get pics from the builder, and as my build progresses over the winter!

New rubber for 2011 Hoosier Koni Challenge take-offs

New racing seat, FIA approved, OMP RS-PT2

more work, reveals some sound deadening.

**** coming out. This stuff is like nasty *** tar roofing.

Froze the crap with dry ice then chipped it off, left behind nasty glue and tar that I will buzz off with a rotary tool probably since it will be repainted. My stuff did not come off near as easy as some others I have seen.