Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

best shock valving for a dd/ hpde car?

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2013, 06:44 PM
lotteman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default best shock valving for a dd/ hpde car?

Hey guys,

Lately i've been reading up on different types of shock valving and how it would affect how your car feels on the street vs cornering. I bought a set of used Bilstein PSS's that I plan on revalving to match stiffer springs. Im fairly new to all this damper tech so I feel a bit lost. From what I know so far:

Digressive- shock is relatively stiff < 3 or so seconds and starts to even out as piston speed increases

Linear- shock has a high flow rate at low speeds and starts to decrease flow(at a consistant rate) as piston speeds increase

Progressive- Shock has a very high flow rate at low speeds and begins to decrease flow at an inconsistant rate as piston speeds increase.

I'm trying to figure out what the best valving would be in my situation, a daily driven G35 that sees a hpde/autox 5+ times a year. I would like my car to handle great but at the same time still have a nice ride on these LA streets. Something that would pass the girlfriend/mom test.

A coworker of mine who has been autocrossing for 20+ years explained a how different valving can change respsonsiveness and overall grip. From what i took from his explanations I really like how linear valving sounds. However, im scared this setup might be too harsh on the street. I also notice a lot of people like to run digressive setups, not sure on the reasoning why but it makes sense i guess.

Any input or help would be greatly appreciated guys!

Last edited by lotteman; 02-02-2013 at 05:57 PM.
Old 02-01-2013, 09:48 PM
Scott Webb

Received 14 Likes on 5 Posts