Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

Road Course - 370 or 350?

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2019, 03:50 AM
260DET

Received 39 Likes on 32 Posts
Default Road Course - 370 or 350?

Assuming similar power to weight ratio and similar braking performance, which is the best or should I ask how far ahead would a 370Z be? And very importantly, why?

I'm a newb here (hi everyone) but have messed around with and raced early Z cars and now want to move on to something more modern with a stiffer chassis and more sophisticated suspension. Depending on responses I'll likely have plenty of follow up questions
Old 04-10-2019, 06:03 AM
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 1,290 Likes on 894 Posts

The 350Z has several factors going for it. First, a slightly longer wheelbase allows it to be more stable in high speed turns and transitions. Second, and perhaps most critically, it's not as finicky electronically as the VQ37VHR, if any number of factors (ECM, ABS, BCM) don't align properly, limp mode is the result. The Z33 is a special car from the standpoint of being sophisticated from an engineering standpoint, but not going as far electronically sensing so many areas. The VHR also needs more cooling.
Old 04-10-2019, 08:00 AM
MicVelo
350Z/370Z Tech Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 3,253 Likes on 2,314 Posts

Originally Posted by 260DET
Assuming similar power to weight ratio and similar braking performance, which is the best or should I ask how far ahead would a 370Z be? And very importantly, why?

I'm a newb here (hi everyone) but have messed around with and raced early Z cars and now want to move on to something more modern with a stiffer chassis and more sophisticated suspension. Depending on responses I'll likely have plenty of follow up questions
Originally Posted by dkmura