Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers

Importance of caliper dust boots for road and track car

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2017, 06:24 AM
ottacat

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Importance of caliper dust boots for road and track car

Hey collective wisdom:

My car is used as both a weekend fun car and a track car. It is a 2008 with non-Brembo brakes. I'm now getting fast enough that I'm eating brake pads like crazy. I'm moving up to EBC Bluestuffs but I know I'll still go through them quickly.

My main issue is I can't go to full track pads such as HP+ due to making the car very unpleasant to drive on the street.

When discussing upgrading to a BBK with friends who are quite knowledgeable they strongly cautioned that because I'm not a mechanic and that my car is a road and track car to make sure any BBK I look at has dust boots for the pistons. Others have said that a good set of Wilwoods can go just fine without dust boots as long as they are cleaned properly when the pads are changed.

So, are dust boots really a must have?

What about other options such as picking up a used set of Brembo's and installing brake ducts?

Last edited by ottacat; 06-04-2017 at 06:26 AM.
Old 06-04-2017, 06:58 AM
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 1,292 Likes on 896 Posts

Dust boots are exactly what their description says: they keep brake dust and dirt away from the inner seals as the brake piston moves down the bore. They are a must have if you plan to keep your brakes (and car) properly maintained over time. I've used Wilwoods and other monoblock type calipers over the years and it's way easier to replace and adjust them with dust boots.