Notices
East Canada Ontario, Quebec, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, etc.

NOob Question about Driving a Manual~

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2008, 07:55 PM
Z-Lover

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NOob Question about Driving a Manual~

Been driving my stick 350Z for the past 3 weeks..This is my first stick car, and i'm a totally noob when it comes to stick shift.

Finally, i can peacefully drive my stick shift on the street, no more stalls :-) Thank GOD

not much problems with upshifting...but it's a bit hard when up shift from 4 to 5...why??probably b/c i am still new to stick? or something?

However, for the downshift, i still have a lot of questions..

every time i take turns, i stay in higher gear with low speed, i felt the car was kinda shaking...:-(

but i don't know which gear should i shift down to , there's nothing i could do about it...damn!!!!

QUESTIONS

First of all, at what speed should I down shift to which gear???

Second of all, can i skip gears when downshifting? for example, from 5 to 3, or from 4 to 2?

Hope some of you guys could give me some ideas about my question....thanks a million in advance!

Last edited by Z-Lover; 11-02-2008 at 08:00 PM.
Old 11-02-2008, 08:48 PM
tinlok

there's a whole bunch of threads on driving stick , i suggest you look them up and read them because i found them quite informative.

to answer your questions
1: try to keep the rpms above 2000 . so pick gear that'd do that. usually you don't have to skip gear on downshifting. i think 6th gear at 2000 rpm is about 90kmph.

before you turn, downshift 1 gear

2: i've read that it's not a good idea to skip gears but others might correct me on that. as long as you rev match properly (blip the throttle about 1000 rpm higher before you let off the clutch) i guess it's not that bad. but to be safe i'd just do 1 gear at a time downshifting cuz u might end up hitting the rev limiter if u're starting at like 4000 rpm and directly shifting down 2 gears.