Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Aftermarket HID Help...

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2005, 12:46 AM
showstoppertk

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Aftermarket HID Help...

ok so its been months now since one of my low beam lights went out and I've finally grown tired of having to be the guy driving with his high lights on (yeah I'm that guy). but in my defense I did try to fix it immediately but in doing so I found out that I have some kind of aftermarket HID kit that the previous owner had put on (anyone want to buy some phillips D2R's that I bought prior to finding this out). anyways I finally made the time to get back into the housing and take some pics of what I've got and I'm hoping that somebody can help identify what HID system I've got and thus what kind of bulb I need to buy. from what I can tell, it looks like D2R bulbs rebased with h7 connectors but I'm no expert. any help would be appreciated...thanx.

this is the ballast

this is the back of the light housing

this is the back of the bulb, the actual bulb looks exactly like a D2R
Old 09-07-2005, 12:48 AM
showstoppertk

sorry bout the bad pics, and jun...plz chime in if you have any input. thanx!!!
Old 09-07-2005, 07:26 AM
yobri
350Z-holic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I see he drilled a hole in the gray plastic cover to get the wires through. What did you use to seal the hole though? Epoxy of some sort?
Old 09-07-2005, 07:41 AM
Zivman

Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts

You are most likely stuck buying the same brand bulbs - which are rebased H7s. The problem is with most aftermarket HID kits is that the capsules and ballasts are proprietary and cannot be mixed with regular DR2 or D2S based capsules.

The fact that you have one light out shows the poor quality of aftermarket kits. I would replace the whole setup with an oem quality phillips setup like Jun sells.

Good luck
Originally Posted by showstoppertk