Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hid bulb replacement nightmare

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2013, 02:09 PM
logan09

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hid bulb replacement nightmare

Ok so I had my passenger side low beam burn out on me so I ordered some new bulbs. My Z is an '05 Base model but it had HID's when I bought it so I figured they were the OEM HID's. I ordered some OEM HID bulbs (D2R) and got to work. I immediately noticed it did not look the same at all compared to the bulbs I bought. I also cannot figure out how these original bulbs come out, and it just appears the base of the bulbs don't match up at all so I came to you guys knowing a lot of you are pretty intelligent when it comes to these things. Even if I was able to remove the current bulb, I don't see any way of how it would plug back in.

The grey cap/cover on the back of the headlight also has silicone everywhere in the middle of it where the wires pass through if that means anything.

I am a total noob when it comes to this so if someone could set me straight on this that would make my day. Pics below for ease of diagnosing how retarded I am.

Here is the headlight first of all. (Drivers side but I'm just replacing both)

Here is what I came across that is puzzling me

A little different angle of the bulb so that you can see the base

New bulb that I ordered. Notice the base compared to my current bulbs.

Same bulb but a view of the plug-end
Old 06-24-2013, 02:16 PM
shakespug

I think you got a hid conversion kit and the bulb is hardwired into the harness itself and plugged into the ballast itself.
you would have to get the hardwired bulbs with the harness attached instead of j7st the bulb.

Originally Posted by logan09