brake boosting a TT 350z. - Page 2 - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-20-2006, 05:14 AM   #21
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Phunk, if you still want to keep your brake lights functional, you might try doing this instead.

If you unplug the VDC harness behind your ABS junction box near your brake resevior, you can brake boost. If you plan to wire up a switch, I would do it here, and just kill power to that module with the switch. This way, you can break boost, and still keep your break lights functional for the street. Your speedo is killed, but who cares.

And damn...break boosting from a roll is really really fun!
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 05:15 AM   #22
TheCajunStyle
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
TheCajunStyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berkshires
Posts: 532
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK guys, this topic seems a little too noob for people for who have post counts in the thousands. (just playing!)

Get your head under the dash...Look under the fulcrum point for the brake pedal...You'll see a little switch that is activated when you press the brake...You need to tap in to the wire (the one that goes to the ECU). Install a switch. Boom bang done.

The TCS lights do not come on for me...
TheCajunStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 05:59 AM   #23
MI 35th
OGPremierMafia
iTrader: (16)
 
MI 35th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 5,108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

We all get a lil newb sometimes!

bBrake boosting is such a great advantage when street racing and is damn fun as well.
MI 35th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 06:32 AM   #24
bverschage
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
bverschage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PHOENIX
Posts: 388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Interesting
bverschage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 06:50 AM   #25
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCajunStyle
OK guys, this topic seems a little too noob for people for who have post counts in the thousands. (just playing!)

Get your head under the dash...Look under the fulcrum point for the brake pedal...You'll see a little switch that is activated when you press the brake...You need to tap in to the wire (the one that goes to the ECU). Install a switch. Boom bang done.

The TCS lights do not come on for me...
But driving around on the street without brake lights is kind dangerous...and cops frown up that...LOL.

But either method will work.
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 09:02 AM   #26
phunk
CJ Motorsports
Thread Starter
iTrader: (21)
 
phunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,997
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Sharif, the method I said about just disabling that single pin at the ECU would not turn off the brake lights. Its the cleanest method as in it eliminates only one single thing, and thats the stoplamp signal to the ECU... therefore everything is still functional 100% except the gas will not close under braking now.

But I am glad to hear it works out for you the way you did it, part of me just wanted to hear that when someone disabled the system they have been able to do it. Just motivates me to actually go do it now.
phunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 09:11 AM   #27
redman333
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
redman333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 1,481
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Can you post pics of this and where its at, I'm intersted in trying this myself. Now I know why I couldn't brake boost on the street. When I tried it NA I just thought it wasn't enough power. Now I'm FI and still couldn't so I figured it was something like this.
redman333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 09:18 AM   #28
tig488
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bama
Posts: 4,662
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunk
Sharif, the method I said about just disabling that single pin at the ECU would not turn off the brake lights. Its the cleanest method as in it eliminates only one single thing, and thats the stoplamp signal to the ECU... therefore everything is still functional 100% except the gas will not close under braking now.

But I am glad to hear it works out for you the way you did it, part of me just wanted to hear that when someone disabled the system they have been able to do it. Just motivates me to actually go do it now.
well do it and quit talking about it, and let us know how it goes, since youre off from work.
tig488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 10:20 AM   #29
phunk
CJ Motorsports
Thread Starter
iTrader: (21)
 
phunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,997
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tig488
well do it and quit talking about it, and let us know how it goes, since youre off from work.

the jerk store called....
phunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 10:40 AM   #30
doug
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 16,824
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redman333
Can you post pics of this and where its at, I'm intersted in trying this myself. Now I know why I couldn't brake boost on the street. When I tried it NA I just thought it wasn't enough power. Now I'm FI and still couldn't so I figured it was something like this.

of course you couldn't brake boost when you were N/A .. you can't build boost with no form of Forced Induction to begin with.
doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 11:20 AM   #31
tig488
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bama
Posts: 4,662
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunk
the jerk store called....
LOL! youre still at the computer? get to work!
tig488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 01:53 PM   #32
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunk
Sharif, the method I said about just disabling that single pin at the ECU would not turn off the brake lights. Its the cleanest method as in it eliminates only one single thing, and thats the stoplamp signal to the ECU... therefore everything is still functional 100% except the gas will not close under braking now.

But I am glad to hear it works out for you the way you did it, part of me just wanted to hear that when someone disabled the system they have been able to do it. Just motivates me to actually go do it now.
Ah....so it just eliminates the stop lamp signal TO the ECU. Very clever.
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 04:27 PM   #33
down_shift
Registered User
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Beantown
Posts: 478
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Brake boosting ftw. It's sooo much fun on the highway
down_shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 07:25 PM   #34
rcdash
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
rcdash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 6,388
Thanked 41 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Per the service manual that pin (101) is supposed to go down to 0V at the ECU when the brake pedal is released. You *may* want to tie the ECU side of that signal to a ground (chassis) to make sure it doesn't "float". (If you get a CEL - it'd be a remedy).

It'd be great if the VDC switch could be used to disable both at the same time - anyone know where in the service manual is the wiring for the VDC switch (is it on/off vs. momentary push)?

EDIT: I found it in the BRC.pdf section of the manual (for a 2004 G35 coupe) - looks like it'd be pretty straightforward with one relay from the VDC off switch (connector M9) triggering a relay that connects the ECU pin 101 to either the sensor or ground.

Last edited by rcdash; 11-20-2006 at 07:41 PM.
rcdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 01:57 AM   #35
taurran
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
taurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: .
Posts: 9,498
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Any updates on this? I'm very interested in hearing your suggestions.

I played around with it tonight and no luck.
taurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 02:02 AM   #36
phunk
CJ Motorsports
Thread Starter
iTrader: (21)
 
phunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,997
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

no updates from here, havent felt like climbing around the mess of FCON wiring in my car.

However, if you were to put a toggle switch on pin 101 of your ECU, i will almost guarentee you that you will be able to brake boost no problem when you open the circuit
phunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 02:05 AM   #37
taurran
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
taurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: .
Posts: 9,498
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunk
no updates from here, havent felt like climbing around the mess of FCON wiring in my car.

However, if you were to put a toggle switch on pin 101 of your ECU, i will almost guarentee you that you will be able to brake boost no problem when you open the circuit
I might have to try that one of these weekends (after the holiday). I was hoping someone else would have feedback soon and I wouldn't have to play guinea pig on it. Also, I'm running out of places to hide all these gauges and switches.
taurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 05:48 AM   #38
n/a
Registered User
 
n/a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: TOKYO - JAPAN
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry guys,
I understand what is being discussed but a little lost with the term 'Brake Boosting'. Could someone explain why this term is used?
n/a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 07:17 AM   #39
QuadCam
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
QuadCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
Posts: 3,869
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I haven't heard that term either, but I'm pretty sure it is the technique of spooling the turbo up while cruising. then, you can let off the brake and instantly be at full boost. You are just creating a load for the engine/turbos to work against to get the turbos spooling.
QuadCam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 08:55 AM   #40
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunk
no updates from here, havent felt like climbing around the mess of FCON wiring in my car.

However, if you were to put a toggle switch on pin 101 of your ECU, i will almost guarentee you that you will be able to brake boost no problem when you open the circuit
Dammit...ok..I will try it. It's a lot easier than popping my hood, and fiddling around my engine bay. People will think I am reconnecting my NOS......sweet!
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autocross Brake Pads hajwoj Autocross/Road 27 11-01-2015 05:25 PM
Replacing Tail light issue. 350z82 Exterior & Interior 19 10-01-2015 06:25 PM


Tags
2005, boost, brake, constant, g35, g37, infiniti, infinity, lights, sensor, slip, snow, stay, switch, toggle, vdc, yaw

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: