brake boosting a TT 350z. - Page 3 - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2006, 07:29 PM   #41
tig488
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bama
Posts: 4,662
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i would try it but i have a G35 and we all know those dreaded pins arent always the same between these cars.
tig488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 09:17 PM   #42
BoOsTedz33TT
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: L.A, California
Posts: 1,015
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n/a
Sorry guys,
I understand what is being discussed but a little lost with the term 'Brake Boosting'. Could someone explain why this term is used?
while racing from a punch, you get a few cars ahead, and start braking, at the same time gassing the pedal, creating boost, then let go, and ..WOMP~!!. Ive brake boosted in a few supras, its insane, still trying to figure out the 350z, couldnt you just wire up the brakes seperatley from the ecu?? Im just giving idea's...i dont really have a interest in going though rotars, or make a kill switch between the fuse??
BoOsTedz33TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 01:02 PM   #43
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The voltage at the ECU drops to 0vdc because of a lack of voltage, NOT because of the presence of a ground signal. There should be NO reason to tie the ECU pin to ground. It most likely won't hurt anything, but it shouldn't be necesarry.

What if there was a module that was triggered by the VDC button that disconnected the pin 101 from the ECU? Such a module could monitor the brake input signal, and could send 'fake' signals when the brake wasn't being pushed to keep the CEL light from coming on.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 02:24 PM   #44
rcdash
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
rcdash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 6,387
Thanked 41 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Kevin, i'll take your word on that - I have yet to find the circuit in the service manual that might explain why the CEL is triggered if pin 101 is disconnected. How does it know it's disconnected? I thought maybe it recognized a disconnect vs. grounded signal...

I'd get your VDC memory module in a second if it performed both functions - could it be made to do this?
rcdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 03:53 PM   #45
phunk
CJ Motorsports
Thread Starter
iTrader: (21)
 
phunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,997
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson
What if there was a module that was triggered by the VDC button that disconnected the pin 101 from the ECU? Such a module could monitor the brake input signal, and could send 'fake' signals when the brake wasn't being pushed to keep the CEL light from coming on.
You build it, count me in. However, I would trigger it by the VDC OFF dash light power so that it will disconnect the pin if the car goes into VDC error mode, that way you know its always working no matter why the VDC is shut off.
phunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 03:55 PM   #46
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That light is controlled over the CAN bus, I do believe.

How about a (-) trigger (which the VDC button is, even with the fuse disconnected and a dedicated 'brake cut off' LED?
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 04:02 PM   #47
taurran
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
taurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: .
Posts: 9,498
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson
The voltage at the ECU drops to 0vdc because of a lack of voltage, NOT because of the presence of a ground signal. There should be NO reason to tie the ECU pin to ground. It most likely won't hurt anything, but it shouldn't be necesarry.

What if there was a module that was triggered by the VDC button that disconnected the pin 101 from the ECU? Such a module could monitor the brake input signal, and could send 'fake' signals when the brake wasn't being pushed to keep the CEL light from coming on.
*interested*
taurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 06:23 PM   #48
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I messed around and came up with the hardware tonight, now all I need is some software to make it work.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 07:38 PM   #49
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, I have the software done now and I've tested it out a bit (out of car).

There are 5 wires -

Ground

Ignition (12v when car on)

Brake In (From pedal to Module)

Brake Out (From Module to ECU)

On/Off Switch ((-) input, either pushbutton or VDC, should work even with VDC fuse pulled)

Status Output ((-) output to drive LED indicator

When the module is 'OFF' the 'Brake Output' mirrors the 'Brake Input' so the signal acts like normal.

When the module is switched to 'ON' the LED will light continuously, and every time the module recieves a 'Brake Input' signal it only outputs a "Brake Output' for 1s. After that first 1s as long as you hold the brake down the ECU will not get a signal.

The module is designed to reset each time you lift your foot off the pedal, so the ECU will still occasionally recieve brake signals (and thus preventing the CEL).

I've personally never had a problem revving my car while keeping my foot on the brake, so I'm thinking this is either a 350Z think or an auto tranny thing (I have a 6mt G35).

Phunk, you know anyone you can install this thing if I send it your way?
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 08:33 PM   #50
phunk
CJ Motorsports
Thread Starter
iTrader: (21)
 
phunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Chicago, IL
Posts: 3,997
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I would LOVE to test it, but first snow JUST landed today!!!!

BTW, I would figure the G35 would do it too? Basically what would happen if I tried to brake boost right now, is it will still rev the engine a little, but it will not let me create enough load to spool the turbos. If you wanna give it a shot, get in like 3rd gear at 5000rpm and floor it, and press the brakes to see if you can get it to hold that RPM/Speed while your still floored - if you can, as you probably know, your car will start building boost like crazy, and when you let off the gas you take off like a bat outta hell - no lag! You will probably just light up the tires actually hehe, i know thats what would happen to me in 3rd gear.
phunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 09:29 PM   #51
Mike Wazowski
350Z-holic
iTrader: (113)
 
Mike Wazowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego 92111
Posts: 22,106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phunk
I would LOVE to test it, but first snow JUST landed today!!!!

BTW, I would figure the G35 would do it too? Basically what would happen if I tried to brake boost right now, is it will still rev the engine a little, but it will not let me create enough load to spool the turbos. If you wanna give it a shot, get in like 3rd gear at 5000rpm and floor it, and press the brakes to see if you can get it to hold that RPM/Speed while your still floored - if you can, as you probably know, your car will start building boost like crazy, and when you let off the gas you take off like a bat outta hell - no lag! You will probably just light up the tires actually hehe, i know thats what would happen to me in 3rd gear.
I can test it here in San Diego, since there is no snow.
Mike Wazowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 04:03 PM   #52
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

PM'd
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 05:14 PM   #53
taurran
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
taurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: .
Posts: 9,498
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm in Florida. No snow here.
taurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 05:37 PM   #54
QuadCam
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
QuadCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
Posts: 3,869
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I'm game for testing it Kevin.....once I get my fuel pressure drop issue fixed.
QuadCam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 09:50 PM   #55
Mike Wazowski
350Z-holic
iTrader: (113)
 
Mike Wazowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego 92111
Posts: 22,106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson
PM'd
PMed you back
Mike Wazowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 12:56 PM   #56
tonio
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: atlanta
Posts: 549
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson
I've personally never had a problem revving my car while keeping my foot on the brake, so I'm thinking this is either a 350Z think or an auto tranny thing (I have a 6mt G35).

Phunk, you know anyone you can install this thing if I send it your way?
Definitely not just a Z thing, I had a 6mt G and could not brake boost.. I wish this topic would have been brought up before, I probably wouldnt have had as much trouble with a certain Evo running around Atlanta.
tonio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 01:00 PM   #57
nicholasm617
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
nicholasm617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: boston area, ma
Posts: 780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

wait so im not a retard for stalling at the track when i tried to do a brakestance to heat up my tires?

so ANY time i try a brakestance it cuts the throttle?

03 6spd touring.
nicholasm617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 02:01 PM   #58
Mike Wazowski
350Z-holic
iTrader: (113)
 
Mike Wazowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Diego 92111
Posts: 22,106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholasm617
wait so im not a retard for stalling at the track when i tried to do a brakestance to heat up my tires?

so ANY time i try a brakestance it cuts the throttle?

03 6spd touring.

Yes, but your still retarded j/k of course....not really
Mike Wazowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 07:42 PM   #59
nicholasm617
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
nicholasm617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: boston area, ma
Posts: 780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by USN HM 350Z
Yes, but your still retarded j/k of course....not really
its ok, i know lol.
nicholasm617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2006, 04:33 AM   #60
Alberto
Cranky FI Owner
iTrader: (14)
 
Alberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: DMV
Posts: 34,720
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson
PM'd
Ohhh I wanna test it You know I'll get good video of it as well...
Alberto is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autocross Brake Pads hajwoj Autocross/Road 27 11-01-2015 05:25 PM
Replacing Tail light issue. 350z82 Exterior & Interior 19 10-01-2015 06:25 PM


Tags
2005, boost, brake, constant, g35, g37, infiniti, infinity, lights, sensor, slip, snow, stay, switch, toggle, vdc, yaw

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: