06 TT G35 build 2nd go around - MY350Z.COM Forums



Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2016, 04:42 AM   #1
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default 06 TT G35 build 2nd go around

Don't really have to much time to myself do to running a used car biz. ( 24/7) game. Anyway I figured I would post this to hopefully help others and guys can communicate back and forth to work out issues or get ideas. Please if you don't have anything good to say just keep it moving Thxs. So back in say 2010 I blew my stock motor on a SC. Had a engine package from a company and put a greddy TT on it. Since day one I had a issue with leaking head gaskets. Drove me nuts. Did effect anything but bothered me. Car ran great made good power.
Bout a year later I was involved in a nasty jet ski accident and had me out of the game for bout 3 years. Long story short car sat finally got on my feet guess was a dry start idk bit spun a cam. Found this out cause I took the motor out to fix head gaskets. One thing led to another and I'm doing the build again from the bottom up. Better parts and more attention to detail.

Heads leaking



Cam caps


Look close you will see the break through in the cyl wall


Needless to say I started the build process again

































I will update soon. Thxs

Last edited by 35reilly; 07-23-2016 at 03:04 AM.
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 07:35 AM   #2
Conway_160
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle of the USA
Posts: 1,510
Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Looking good
Conway_160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 08:04 AM   #3
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conway_160 View Post
Looking good
Thxs man. Stressful but still. Lol
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 08:12 AM   #4
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Motor is fully blue printed with all documents to show all sizing ect. 96mm cp Pistons. Carrillo rods. Ferrara valve train. 1mm over sized valves. ACL moly coated bearings. S7 cams. Nismo oil pump. Greddy TT 20g turbos with upgraded wheels.ect. Have new set of Greddy (( JUNK )) exhaust manifolds. Lol. Cosworth intake. Hr head gaskets with mod. Act triple Carbon clutch. I'm sure I missed some things.
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 08:20 AM   #5
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

One of the things I really wanted to make sure I did beside not let anything get passed over with little concern is my oil pan and returns. Since I have a billet main girdle the highest point I could weld the bungs it where it is seen. Any higher I would have interfered with the girdle. I drilled and welded 1/2 npt female bung for the return. I then drilled the front of the pan. The front of the oil feed passage to have a direct port to feed turbos. ( 1/8 npt as well as the psi port) I'm doing away with the factory oil psi since I have the aftermarket gauge. ( need to figure out how to trick sensor so dummy light doesn't come on)














Last edited by 35reilly; 07-22-2016 at 08:22 AM.
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 08:23 AM   #6
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Sunday I'm going back down work work on it and hopefully have all return done and pan on for good. I will update when have more
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 09:16 AM   #7
str8dum1
Registered User
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: raleigh-wood NC
Posts: 8,807
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

dummy light wont come on with it unplugged. Mines been removed and unplugged for years
str8dum1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 09:22 AM   #8
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by str8dum1 View Post
dummy light wont come on with it unplugged. Mines been removed and unplugged for years
Really??? Well that's one less thing I have to do. Lol. Thxs bud
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 01:08 PM   #9
rcdash
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
rcdash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 6,372
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Wasting a good light on the dash - can use it for something else - maybe have your Haltech close the circuit when oil PSI falls below a certain value...
rcdash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 01:16 PM   #10
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdash View Post
Wasting a good light on the dash - can use it for something else - maybe have your Haltech close the circuit when oil PSI falls below a certain value...
Sry I'm not that great with electrical stuff. Explain what you mean please. Use for something else? What would you suggest? Don't have the haltech yet. Want to get up and running work any bugs out before I drop that kinda coin. I'm opened minded tho. Would love to hear what you suggest
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 01:18 PM   #11
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Really I would like to tie the oem wiring into the aftermarket so I could use both. Use the same port aftermarket sensor to work both gauge and dummy light in simple terms, but idk where to even start with that

Last edited by 35reilly; 07-22-2016 at 01:19 PM.
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 01:23 PM   #12
jdm-v35
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jdm-v35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 623
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

after the mishap you don't want to sleeve the block? I am still considering myself whether sleeving is worth it or not. It would save a lot of money not too, but maybe it would be significantly stronger. Just wondering why you didn't.
jdm-v35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 01:27 PM   #13
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdm-v35 View Post
after the mishap you don't want to sleeve the block? I am still considering myself whether sleeving is worth it or not. It would save a lot of money not too, but maybe it would be significantly stronger. Just wondering why you didn't.
Read a lot of issues with sleeves on these blocks cooling issues and what not. Just didn't want the headache. If it turns out I need them or something like that I have read up on the closed deck blocks or maybe I will sleeve it idk. Part of me now wishes I did but. Idk it's together now so let's see and hopefully I won't need to do it. There are guys running higher power then I plan with no sleeves so. We'll see bud.
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 01:32 PM   #14
jdm-v35
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jdm-v35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 623
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Cool thanks for the insight. I looked at the closed deck block too, but its just an oem block with a precision machined block guard really. The sleeves are still oem.

I know sleeves can drop, or cooling problems can happen but it seems like darton/AEBS sleeves are the strongest options. what are you power goals btw?
jdm-v35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 01:35 PM   #15
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdm-v35 View Post
Cool thanks for the insight. I looked at the closed deck block too, but its just an oem block with a precision machined block guard really. The sleeves are still oem.

I know sleeves can drop, or cooling problems can happen but it seems like darton/AEBS sleeves are the strongest options. what are you power goals btw?
True. Idk I'm guessing since I was close to 600 with the last build maybe 700rwhp give or take. Idk got a long road ahead of me. Lol
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 05:40 PM   #16
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: col
Posts: 1,990
Thanked 65 Times in 62 Posts
Default

looks good - your oil return bungs on your upper oil pan look good...jealous!
bealljk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 05:49 PM   #17
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bealljk View Post
looks good - your oil return bungs on your upper oil pan look good...jealous!
Thanks buddy!!!! This whole oil pan is gonna be the death of me!!!! Hehehe.

Took a lot of time fitting and what not to get it to where I think it's the best it can be.
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 05:51 PM   #18
35reilly
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: south jersey
Posts: 366
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

FYI. ARP bungs. Rea nice quality!!!
35reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 09:24 PM   #19
Justin100
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 629
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default

to avoid leaking head gaskets make sure you take your heads to a machine shop to get them resurfaced..........and make sure they check the block piece of mind get the block decked/resurfaced also.

always get new headgaskets and whenever you remove your head for any reason you can never reuse your headgaskets period. can only be used 1 time.
Justin100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 09:43 PM   #20
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: col
Posts: 1,990
Thanked 65 Times in 62 Posts
Default

^Id also add use multiple coats of the copper gasket sealant spray ...
bealljk is online now   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Greddy twin turbo DE kit needs work B_hoss Forced Induction 6 04-12-2016 10:13 AM
Good video on the 350z on Nissannews.com #15Blade 2003-2009 Nissan 350Z 2 05-17-2002 08:06 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send