Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Changing suspension and camber issues?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2003, 06:55 PM
CluelessZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Changing suspension and camber issues?

OK,

MY first of many questions...Bear with me as I am a newbie to all this modding stuff (But highly motivated).

I want to eventually install a new suspension. I like the Tien Coilovers. Someone said in another thread that they would never put coilovers on the Z right now, until Nissan, or someone comes out with a way to fix the camber once you install a new suspension.

Camber happens when the wheels are tilted out 1 direction. Question: Why in the hell would you all of a sudden have more camber on your tires/wheels just by lowering the car with a new suspension?

Thanks
Old 01-09-2003, 08:20 PM
Desmo

Whew, that's quite a question really. I'll try my best to hit the high points.

The easy answer is that your suspension is designed to increase the negative camber as it is compressed. Negative camber is when the tops of the tires lean in, positive camber would be the tops leaning out, but you don't see that very often. Lowering your car compresses your suspension (and keeps it there) so by design, the suspension adds in more negative camber.

That leads into why a suspension designer would want more camber as the suspension is compressed. The goal is to keep as much of the tire working for your as possible. Going straight is easy, just run zero camber (tire not leaning in or out). That puts as much of the tire in firm contact with the road as possible, both front and rear, for braking and accelerating forces (assuming the fronts do most of the braking and the rears are doing the accelerating). Zero camber is also good for tire wear, since the tire is going to have even pressure across the entire surface.