approx 3,500 rpm - no power - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

approx 3,500 rpm - no power

Old 08-28-2018, 06:27 PM
  #1  
Darwin
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Darwin
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default approx 3,500 rpm - no power

G'day.
I bought a 2003 manual 350z track (100,000 miles) a while back and it had this issue when I bought it - I thought it would be an easy fix but it turns out not.
The car pulls fine to approx. 3,500 rpm and then it was like hitting a brick wall - it just did not want to pull through that.
Mechanic number 1 - advised no codes. New plugs fitted. One new coil pack fitted. New MAF fitted. New fuel pump and assembly fitted. Electrical connector fixed on one o2 sensor - car still ran the same.
Mechanic number 2 - advised no codes. Had it on the dynatune for some time. Replaced fuel pressure regulator. Car runs a little better but at 3,500 rpm instead of hitting a brick wall it just slowly .very slowly wanders up through the rev range. He wants to do some expensive mod on fuel pipes and fuel rail. I understand that may deliver more fuel but am concerned the underlying problem may still be there.
I don't know an awful lot about cars (my son does although he likes his S13, 14 and 15) and really don't want to take it to the one Nissan dealer within 2,000 miles as I have had a bad experience with them before so was hoping someone might have some suggestion of what to look at next.
Darwin is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 07:58 PM
  #2  
jv350z
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jv350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,032
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Turn-on the car. Hold-down the "accel" (top) button on the steering wheel, and hit the "on/off" (middle) button once. Release buttons. Give it some revs.

Hopefully big smiles!

Last edited by jv350z; 08-28-2018 at 08:09 PM.
jv350z is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 08:18 PM
  #3  
Darwin
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Darwin
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for responding.
I have just gone out and tried that and taken it out for a run. It is just the same.
When the car is under no load, it can rev happily to red line, its just when its being driven.
Darwin is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 08:36 PM
  #4  
jv350z
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jv350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,032
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
Default

I was hoping you were on a "valet" map. Look up UpRev map switching. But it sounds like you're dealing with a different issue. Good luck.
jv350z is offline  
Old 10-10-2018, 10:31 PM
  #5  
Darwin
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Darwin
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Update.
I ended up taking it to the Nissan dealer. They had it for 2 days - and had no idea.
Having got her back home I have changed the 2 cam sensors and the crank sensor - still the same.
Think I will try the oxygen sensors next.
Darwin is offline  
Old 10-10-2018, 10:44 PM
  #6  
Darwin
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Darwin
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh - the only thing the dealers did note was the plugs had a brown deposit and they asked if I had been using an octane boost. I havnt and the plugs have done less than 500km
Darwin is offline  
Old 10-19-2018, 01:11 PM
  #7  
ajpasa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 46
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Back to the valet stuff. Does it matter what key you are using in this case? Just a thought.
ajpasa is offline  
Old 12-04-2018, 02:31 PM
  #8  
Darwin
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Darwin
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I ended up changing cam and crank sensors - no change.
Changed fuel from 98 to 95 octane - ran slightly better so I let the wife drive it. After a month it broke down and threw an error code for accelerator pedal sensor - changed it, no difference.
That did get me to thinking about the fuel system so yesterday changed throttle body and did an ecu reset..... SUCCESS.
While I think the ecu is still doing a little bit of learning, the car is running almost perfectly.
Thanks to those who posted with suggestions.
Happy wife...….happy life!
Darwin is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
TXSTYLE
Audio & Video
34
05-17-2005 08:41 AM
koolzero
Maintenance & Repair
0
03-21-2003 08:33 PM
Sz28r
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z
8
12-13-2002 06:49 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: approx 3,500 rpm - no power


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: