Notices
Tuning Reflashes, Piggybacks, Standalone ECUs

Getting the best of both: Uprev + Piggyback!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2010, 11:43 PM
nightcrawler_8

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting the best of both: Uprev + Piggyback!!!!

Hi guys.

well. to make the long story short. i have learned something through out the search i have done.

IF U HAVE THE BEST EMS INT HE WORLD AND THE TUNER IS NOT CAPABLE = BIG FAIL.

i live in the other part of the world. ( Dubai ) and currently am almost done with my project and need to decide on the tune i should go for.

Here are my options:

1) UNICHIP
2) Uprev
3) Haltech

UNICHIP :

Pros:
  • i already have it ( no need to pay extra cash )
  • The tuner i really do trust. as i have been working with him for the past 2 yrs on my APS ST. and my buddy tuned APS TT 480whp ( stock internals ) and still running perfectly fine ( nock on wood ).
  • can do the map switching through a button which i already have done with my last setup. ( one for meth injection and high boost. and the other for low boost. )
Cons:
  • I wont be able to raise the rev limiter ( i have installed C2 cams and want to raise the limiter to 7500RPM )
UPREV:

Pros:
  • I already have it with my GTM turn-key kit. ( no need to pay extra cash )
  • can have access to all the tables unlike the unichip.
Cons:
  • The tuner in the UAE are still fairly new to this platform and mainly done N/A cars. and never dealt with boosted Z's/G's. i am not saying they are bad. but i don't want my Z to be the first boosted Z to be worked at.
  • The maf will max out and need to add an extra 250+$ for a PMAX maf.
  • i wont be able to do map switching as the my ECU is Gen1 where u can have only one map although i have cruise control.
  • SAM will provide a tune. but i still believe that with the shitty HOT ( EXTREMELY HOT ) weather we have in here, the tune should be close to perfect in order to be safe. and i am planning to have the methanol injection added.
Haltech: