Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Swapping amp....is it this easy?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2015, 04:48 PM
savedbygrace

Received 25 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Swapping amp....is it this easy?

Hey all,

My JL 320.4 amp lost a rear channel, out of warranty, so it looks like I'm buying a new amp.

I'm no expert but I know the basics pretty well of audio specs, have installed a head unit before, and two or three cars worth of speaker installs, as well have done dynamat and damplifier pro installs too...but...I've never done an amp install as I didn't want to fry my car.

So...to replace the JL...is it literally something I can do by simply disconnecting the power and audio cables, placing in the new amp and screwing it down, then hooking up those same cables and turning the car on?

Or should I just pay for another amp install and let the shop do it? Paid about $60 first time around, they did a good job, but I'd rather not waste money if this is as simple as I think it is...except for the bolting of the amp to the car that is...that part I'm a little leary about with questions on exactly what are the do's and don'ts? Amp is below driver's seat.

Thanks for all help,

Saved
Old 05-27-2015, 05:08 PM
Heel Til I Die

Received 1,062 Likes on 750 Posts

It shouldn't be a problem as long as the new amp doesn't require bigger gauge wire. It's just a matter of swapping out the old with the new and making sure the connections are correct. If you're sticking with the same power, it'll be easy. Sounds like you're fairly proficient with installs. If you can change speakers, you'll be fine. Just don't touch the power cord to the ground! Otherwise, you'll be changing the inline fuse (or not if you don't have one).
Old 05-27-2015, 05:50 PM
Spike100

Received 203 Likes on 173 Posts

You sound as though you know what you are doing. I would do the swap myself if I were you. You are disconnecting and reconnecting the same wires.