Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Driving Technique help appreciated...

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2005, 09:55 AM
pedroosan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Driving Technique help appreciated...

I tried to play around on a very wet empty parking lot. Switched off VDC and tried to launch hard from a stop where the rear wheels where in a small puddle.

It's stock tires btw.

Nothing happened? I just drove off like normally in the dry?

It's raining here heavily and I am trying to drive safely in public, going by "feeling " for car slipping, but it feels like I am totally sticking to the road anyway, no matter how hard it rains.

Basically, I cannot see why people say that rain and z don't mix?
I can't even break the tires lose in the wet when I want to?

At this point I cannot imagine how you would do a burnout or donut.
But I am a total newbie for those things.

I have driven stick for >10 years, had driving classes ... When I was going too fast in my old FWD Honda civic hatchback 1981 (old car ) I sometimes would slide a little in the rain. When I go in the 4runner too quickly from a standstill (maybe still very slow forward roll), to reverse (AT), I accidentially make the tires squeak/hop sometimes. But in the Z???

I think I don't "launch" the 350z right. I mean it is mostly smooth. But so slow.... Basically I get it to roll a little before I completely let the clutch go and punch the gas, and that seems to take forever.
I don't remember having to even worry about clutch and gas with other non-sports cars. You would just do it automatically, maybe 1 second clutch press and gas let go, and you shift really fast. But with the Z, I still don't feel comfortable after about 1.5 monthes driving it.

And the funniest thing of all: