Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

This pertains to the "17 year olds getting Z's" debate...

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2011, 08:09 PM
Massios

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ok, random post, but I've lurked on this thread for awhile, extracting a bit of amusement from it. What is it that makes an 18 year old exaggerate them selves in an attempt to gain respect from an older z driver? That I cannot understand. But I'm feeling daring, so take a stab at me.

Honestly, I'd be the first one to tell you my G35 was given to me in 09 from my dad, after he had bought it new in 02. The car was payed in cash so there are no payments for me to magically be able to afford as an 18 year old. My parents pay the insurance, obviously. I can barely say I pay for gas - it comes out of my pay check, but I work for my parents maintaining their computer systems.

I'll even tell you I've been an average teenage driver and "bent a few suspension parts". Everyone does it at some point, but I shouldn't have. Every morning I start the car I think about it.

I do website jobs on the side that pay for mods. But the website jobs come from other medical practices in the area that know my parents.

So here I am driving around in a slammed G35, 18. You know what the worst part is? I feel guilty. There is absolutely no way I can change what I've been given. The only thing I can do is not act like an elitist douche and be humble.

You know everyone wants to be that kid at the high school with the best car. It's not all its made up to be. Sure, for a socially inept idiot who enjoys the attention its great, but you really become the center of attention. Everything you do- exacerbated by a small town, is common knowledge the next day.