Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

things that have made my tilton street clutch MUCH easier to drive

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2005, 09:50 AM
sentry65
the burninator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default things that have made my tilton street clutch MUCH easier to drive

I'm actually in love with this clutch now. I had periods where I've not liked it so much at times, but I've been driving it for about 10 months now and here's a quick list of stuff I've done that really seems to help it's drivability - at least IMO

I raised the idle to close to 1400-1500 rpms.
This absolutely gets rid of ALL cement truck chatter at idle and also makes it harder to stall because the stall point is now way under where the idle is instead of just under it. So when you go to take off from a stop and were previously at a low (normal) idle, you don't HAVE to nail the take off just right. You now have a little play room with the rpms

I got wider sticker tires.
This helped the car hook up easier which for some reason made the clutch easier to use because you could give it more gas (raises the rpm's) and not worry as much about doing a mini burnout/tire screaching. I have the 3.9 gears. In theory that helps to raise the rpm's faster to get away from the stall point, but it can also worsen the traction issue if you have stock tires. At least it made me a little more timid with using the gas pedal as hard and therefore being more likely to stall.

new stiffer suspension
I have an 03 which has the worst suspension as far as bounciness on the Z. When going over bumps or whatever, the whole car would bob - therefore make me bounce around. Any bouncing around will throw your feet off. The gas pedal is a little more sensitive than normal so any little bump will cause your feet to jump slightly and will give the gas a bump of more or less gas, throwing off the car's smoothness because of how responsive it is.

Harness or CG lock