Notices
Exterior & Interior 350Z Body modification, interior styling and lighting

2008 350z prewired for Homelink??

Old 05-13-2010, 10:33 PM
  #1  
08350zboy
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2008 350z prewired for Homelink??

Hi does anyone know if the 2008 350z Base model prewired for the homelink that's in the enthusisast/touring models? thanks
08350zboy is offline  
Old 05-14-2010, 03:25 PM
  #2  
corrado15
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philly
Posts: 82
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Doubt it. My 06.5 was not - however it's a pretty easy DIY to do, tapping into existing alternate wiring in the A-pillar. I bought a Homelink mirror off eBay for about $50 - took 30 mins to install, works a treat.

Search the DIY Interior section and you'll find the info you need.

Davy

EDIT: here's the link
https://my350z.com/forum/body-interi...2005-base.html

Last edited by corrado15; 05-14-2010 at 03:27 PM.
corrado15 is offline  
Old 06-13-2010, 09:33 AM
  #3  
08350zboy
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have the pigtail wiring, is the harness already available under the headliner and A Pillar? or do we have to buy the harness to in addition to the wiring? I want to do this as plug and play and not splice anything. Thanks
08350zboy is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 03:56 PM
  #4  
corrado15
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philly
Posts: 82
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 08350zboy View Post
I have the pigtail wiring, is the harness already available under the headliner and A Pillar? or do we have to buy the harness to in addition to the wiring? I want to do this as plug and play and not splice anything. Thanks
You'll almost certainly have to splice into existing wiring in the A-pillar. My Base did not have a harness in the A-pillar the splicing literally takes 5 minutes - it's probably the easiest mod I've done after the shorty antenna.

Davy.
corrado15 is offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 07:22 PM
  #5  
Blck350z
Registered User
iTrader: (10)
 
Blck350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: hershey, Pennsylvania
Posts: 649
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Do want!!!! let me know how it goes.... also I don't want to spend $200 for one... where did you say you got one???
Blck350z is offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 06:48 PM
  #6  
corrado15
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philly
Posts: 82
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Blck350z View Post
Do want!!!! let me know how it goes.... also I don't want to spend $200 for one... where did you say you got one???
I picked up a used mirror out of another Nissan (can't remember which - possibly an Altima) which has Homelink and a compass for around $60 delivered on eBay.

Hardest part was getting the original mirror out of my Z. Wiring in the new one took 30mins max.

Davy.
corrado15 is offline  
Old 07-11-2010, 09:13 AM
  #7  
dcains
Registered User
iTrader: (15)
 
dcains's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 5,124
Recieved 428 Likes on 338 Posts
Default

OK, just did my '08 base 6MT last night, with a GNTX-453 Homelink Autodimming Compass mirror. The male plug in the A-pillar harness has only two wires, a black (ground) and red (+12V constant), and they provide power to the vanity lights in the sun visors. But, the female end of that plug has 4 wires, which you'll see if you remove a few inches of the electrical tape. The black is still ground, the red is still +12V constant, and the green is +12V switched with the ignition. (There was also a white wire I didn't check with a meter, as I only needed the 3 wires already mentioned to hook up the mirror. I used three 3M Scotchlock inline connectors, and everything tucked away well under the A-pillar interior trim. The plug is the 10-pin type (as on the mirror), so you'd figure it would be just left unused in a base car, rather than have two of the pins power the visor lights, but that's how it was in my car.

So, it's a very quick job, and no cutting of the original wiring harnesses is required. FWIW, I bought the mirror harness from 'wembleysells' on ebay, as he's a fellow Z-owner. The used mirror came from eBay seller 'lkqonline', and while it was $100, it arrived in brand-new condition. This mirror is a huge upgrade from the stock mirror, and I'd recommend it highly.

Dean

PS. If you're buying a used eBay mirror, MAKE SURE it comes with the mounting screw. I couldn't match the thread at any of the local hardware stores I checked, and the screw head has to fit the recess in the mirror mount. Mine came without a screw, but 'wemblysells' was kind enough to give me one with the harness.

FWIW, I called the customer service line at Mito Corp first, and they gave me every excuse possible as to why they couldn't provide the screw or harness. They said each car company requests a different screw, and that the pin configurations aren't the same mirror to mirror. Pure BS, as I have since discovered.

Last edited by dcains; 07-11-2010 at 09:53 PM. Reason: added info
dcains is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:16 PM
  #8  
camlitlow
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Homelink

This is a writeup i did when I had my 3000GT. Dont worry about the temp probe parts as our cars already have a temp display. Its not a home link but is a autodim.

I just installed an Auto-Dim/Compass/Temperature rearview mirror out of a Saturn SUV. It’s a pretty easy install. You can get these from just about any GM that was equipped with them. There are 2 main styles. One is the 7 pin flat plug and the other is the 16 pin OnStar type plug. You will need the mirror, about 12 inches of the mirror harness, harness cover (if it has one), temperature probe pickup and 12 inches of its harness. I got mine from a local pick-n-pull for $4.50. You can get them on eBay but they can get pricey.
7-pin: (*required connection; **required if you have a temp display)
PIN 1 = POWER = +12 volts*
PIN 2 = CHASSIS, GROUND*
PIN 3 = BACKUP LIGHTS* (Disables Auto-Dim in reverse)
If not using the backup feature, connect this to ground otherwise auto dim will not function properly.
PIN 6 = TEMP SENSOR**
PIN 7 = TEMP SENSOR**

16-pin: (*required connection; **required if you have a temp display)
PIN 13 = POWER = +12 volts*
PIN 8 = CHASSIS, GROUND*
PIN 9 = BACKUP LIGHTS* (Disables Auto-Dim in reverse)
If not using the backup feature, connect this to ground otherwise auto dim will not function properly.
PIN 6 = TEMP SENSOR**
PIN 7 = TEMP SENSOR**

You will connect 4 wires to the mirror’s harness. Run two to the front of the car near the front of the radiator for the temperature probe so that it can read outside air temperature (I mounted mine to the radiator support). Make sure that it is not near a heat source as the readings will not be true. Run two wires to a ground and 12 volt accessory hot. Do not run to a constant hot as the mirror will run your battery down.

Hope this helps anyone looking to add this feature. I am not a mechanic and do not play one on TV so I do not take responsibility if you burn your car up or hurt yourself.
camlitlow is offline  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:36 PM
  #9  
AcidJake75
Living in 350Z
iTrader: (64)
 
AcidJake75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 4,887
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by corrado15 View Post

Im glad my DIY is still getting put to use..

Last edited by AcidJake75; 07-19-2010 at 04:53 AM.
AcidJake75 is offline  
Old 07-19-2010, 04:26 AM
  #10  
camlitlow
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Wow, is that your DIY? You should be proud, I think I got alot of the write up off of a tahoe forum It definitely has made the rounds through the car forums.
camlitlow is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 12:25 AM
  #11  
08350zboy
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

so it sounds like I can't just plug and play this even with the stock wiring harness since an 08 base doesnt have the connections in tucked under the A Pillar?
08350zboy is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 12:51 AM
  #12  
ReV2Red
I haz da turbos
iTrader: (9)
 
ReV2Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: In the basement
Posts: 1,621
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If you buy the mirror from mynismo.com it comes with a harness, shurely that should be plug and play no?
ReV2Red is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 07:55 AM
  #13  
08350zboy
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Recieved 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just purchased a oem 08 homelink + the stock 08 harness so I'm hoping this will just plug right in
08350zboy is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
liqalu04
Engine & Drivetrain
22
10-25-2017 05:34 AM
issyz
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z
6
07-02-2017 03:04 PM
wanderingstuden
Maintenance & Repair
6
01-28-2016 07:03 PM
350Z Project X
Suspension
9
10-10-2015 09:23 AM
codek
Intake Exhaust
11
09-28-2015 03:03 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 2008 350z prewired for Homelink??


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: