Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Trunk wont open smoothly?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2010, 02:18 PM
cr8zyjap07

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Trunk wont open smoothly?

Sorry if this has been discussed before, but I am a total noob to the 350z world.

When I try to open my tunk I have to press the button once to pop it and press the button like 3 times pulling upwards on the trunk to open it. Is there a fix to this? or is my latch just broken? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 10-07-2010, 03:07 PM
MinG MinG

sAME HERE~~~
Old 10-07-2010, 03:53 PM
winchman

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I'm assuming you have a coupe and you're talking about the hatch.

There are springs on either side of the hatch to pop it open when you press the button. There's a thread describing how you can take the spring apart and insert coins or washers to increase the tension. See post #40 here:

https://my350z.com/forum/maintenance...ing-fix-2.html
Old 10-12-2010, 01:22 AM
maXmood
Under Boost!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

^i've done that when i had the issue, and it got back just after about a month.. not the best solution, but a good one till u get better springs or change the dampers.
Old 10-12-2010, 03:40 PM
Spike100

Received 203 Likes on 173 Posts

The rear hatch release on the 350z coupe works well when the car is new and the weather is not too cold. After owning the car for awhile or when the weather turns cold, some owners report that the hatch does not pop open when pressing the release on the key FOB or the manual release.

The problem can be either the springs that pop the hatch upward, or the struts that support the hatch while it is open.

The springs are enclosed in a rubber casing, and are easily (no tools required) and inexpensively replaced.

The struts that support the hatch door have a minimal “lift strength.” In fact you need to replace these struts if you mount a spoiler on the rear hatch, or you use the car in cold weather.