Forced Induction for Noobs.... - Page 9 - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2008, 11:13 PM   #161
Kung Fu Sifu
Registered User
 
Kung Fu Sifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern Pines N.C.
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is there anyone here who drives their Turbo Z as a daily driver. If so has ur Z had any major problems since doing so?
Kung Fu Sifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 06:45 AM   #162
SlideFox
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kung Fu Sifu View Post
Is there anyone here who drives their Turbo Z as a daily driver. If so has ur Z had any major problems since doing so?
I know at least 5 or 6 people that have boosted Z's as there daily. You just have to make sure you maintain and monitor your car.
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 03:45 AM   #163
chopperman
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
chopperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How many quarts of oil do you need when you change the oil for greddy twins?

Also I have the F con pro without the navigator, and I will be getting a HKS Evc5 boost controller. Now what im not understanding is how will I change my maps? I know that with a utec you can change maps with the map selector that is hooked up to the ecu. But Will I be choosing my maps via the boost controller?

So I am guessing that the car will be tuned for the maxed psi that I want and then when I want to run lower my boost I would choose it through the boost controller? Hope you understand, thanks.
chopperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 06:20 AM   #164
SlideFox
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chopperman View Post
How many quarts of oil do you need when you change the oil for greddy twins?

Also I have the F con pro without the navigator, and I will be getting a HKS Evc5 boost controller. Now what im not understanding is how will I change my maps? I know that with a utec you can change maps with the map selector that is hooked up to the ecu. But Will I be choosing my maps via the boost controller?

So I am guessing that the car will be tuned for the maxed psi that I want and then when I want to run lower my boost I would choose it through the boost controller? Hope you understand, thanks.
Good question, but unfortunately I don't know the answer.

As for the Map settings; I could be wrong but you select your maps with the navigator. I believe the EVC5 is stickly for adjusting boost. I don't think it has the capabilities to store maps.

I do not have a lot of hands on experience with either product. If I were you I would PM Sharif @Forged or GTM who have dealt with these products, and they should be able to get you an answer.

Sorry I couldn't be more help.
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 10:22 AM   #165
SweetDreamZ
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
SweetDreamZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you mention the known issue of rods being the weak point...do we have any data on what the stock pistons can handle?
SweetDreamZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 11:02 AM   #166
SlideFox
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetDreamZ View Post
you mention the known issue of rods being the weak point...do we have any data on what the stock pistons can handle?
It's kind of irrelivant. The rods will fail before the pistons do, and I don't think any one is going to re-install the OEM pistons with aftermarket rods.

To answer your question, NO. I don't think there is any data on the limitations on the OE Pistons.
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 12:07 PM   #167
SweetDreamZ
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
SweetDreamZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ft. Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

agreed, no one is going to re-install them if doing a build. Although, I have heard of people swapping rods out on motors w/o doing a complete build. Pull it down far enough to get the pin out...put new rods in...put motors back together. Just wondered if anyone knew what the stock pistons could handle. If they are safe to like...500 or so rwhp...that might be a viable way to give your motor some more reliability.

A side note here...i've never had my VQ apart on the bottom end...so i have no clue if you could even pull this off with this motor. I know that with my 420A...it could have been done.
SweetDreamZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 12:13 PM   #168
thom000001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Slide gots to update page one for TT kits....I can put something together for you if you want\/ \/ \/
thom000001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 12:20 PM   #169
thom000001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Being a V motor, it would be best to have everything out and get it balanced. Not to say it can't be done. But better safe than sorry right?

Tom

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetDreamZ View Post
agreed, no one is going to re-install them if doing a build. Although, I have heard of people swapping rods out on motors w/o doing a complete build. Pull it down far enough to get the pin out...put new rods in...put motors back together. Just wondered if anyone knew what the stock pistons could handle. If they are safe to like...500 or so rwhp...that might be a viable way to give your motor some more reliability.

A side note here...i've never had my VQ apart on the bottom end...so i have no clue if you could even pull this off with this motor. I know that with my 420A...it could have been done.
thom000001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 02:32 PM   #170
SlideFox
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thom000001 View Post
Slide gots to update page one for TT kits....I can put something together for you if you want\/ \/ \/
Since IB took over, We can't edit old posts....

One of these days I will edit it, and have one of the Mods change it for me.
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 02:38 PM   #171
mpcstuff
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
mpcstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: WS, NC
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have quite a few questions hopefully everyone can help...I am truly a noob to FI in the 350z, so some may seem ignorant. I used to have a turbo b18c civic so I know a bit about FI but not in the Z.

I just purchased a used Turbonetics Single Turbo kit for my 2004 Roadster.

I also have AAM Basic Fuel return system, 440CC injectors, PLX (af ratio,egt and boost gauges, and UTEC.

I have not installed it yet.

Here are my questions

1. Is there any thing else I should def do to play it "safe" I do not plan to build the motor at this time ( I am going to build one now to replace this one later ) ?

2 . How much boost will be "safe"? (I know some say one thing and someone else says the other - but what is the general number)

3. Do I need a boost controller or is it built in to the UTEC?

4. Is there anything (BOV, Wastegate, etc ) in the kit that is weak that I would want to upgrade?

5. If I wanted to change the BOV would I have to get a new flange welded or do they make adapters?

6. Is the install of a Turbonetics kit fairly easy?

7. After installing the turbo how would I go about properly tuning the car (are there downloadable base maps?) I plan to have CIN tune the car but I would have to drive an hour to get there so I need some sort of tune before I go.

Any other suggestions.
mpcstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 02:52 PM   #172
SlideFox
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1. Is there any thing else I should def do to play it "safe" I do not plan to build the motor at this time ( I am going to build one now to replace this one later ) ?

There isn't anything you HAVE to do to make it safe. There are things you can invest in, but there not required.

2 . How much boost will be "safe"? (I know some say one thing and someone else says the other - but what is the general number)

If you are running stock block, I say 6 psi is safe for daily beating

3. Do I need a boost controller or is it built in to the UTEC?

I don't like boost controllers on stock block z's (That's a personal choice). You can tune the UTEC for multiple map, and you would have to have the optional "Map Selector Switch" for the UTEC. CIN can set that up for you.

4. Is there anything (BOV, Wastegate, etc ) in the kit that is weak that I would want to upgrade?

Piping, Piping, Piping... I would double and triple check all your welds before installing!!

5. If I wanted to change the BOV would I have to get a new flange welded or do they make adapters?

I Believe the Greddy RS is a direct replacement, but any tuning ship can cut off the Turbonetics flange, and weld a new one on (*cough* Tial *cough*)

6. Is the install of a Turbonetics kit fairly easy?

The Turbonetics kit is probably one of the easiest. Just have patience.

7. After installing the turbo how would I go about properly tuning the car (are there downloadable base maps?) I plan to have CIN tune the car but I would have to drive an hour to get there so I need some sort of tune before I go.

There are downloadable base maps, that you can upload to your UTEC so that you can limp your car to your tuner for final tuning.

Any other suggestions.
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 12:12 AM   #173
chopperman
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
chopperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Lightly used Evc5 shipped for $335. Good deal?
chopperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 07:41 AM   #174
swede68
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: mckinney tx
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey slide fox can you do a summary of the SP twin turbo kit also please. What are the differences with it compared to APS extreme? there on the same price level but it doesnt come with a fuel system ive noticed. Any extra info would be greatly appriciated.
swede68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 08:20 AM   #175
SlideFox
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swede68 View Post
Hey slide fox can you do a summary of the SP twin turbo kit also please. What are the differences with it compared to APS extreme? there on the same price level but it doesnt come with a fuel system ive noticed. Any extra info would be greatly appriciated.
I have requested the information from Chris and Larry @ SP. As soon as I get the info; I will update the main page.
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 11:35 AM   #176
SlideFox
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sound Performance Twin Turbo Kit: SP offeres one of the highest horsepower capable twin turbo kits on the market for the VQ. The kit includes a HUGE front mount intercooler, Blow-off Valve, 3" downpipes, and tubular manifolds. It is also one of the most expandable kits allowing you a dozen different size turbo options, including ball bearing or journal bearing turbo's, giving you horsepower options from 400-1200hp!

Downside, you will loose your washer fluid reservoir, Scavenge tank is low on the car for proper drainage so lowered cars will have to be careful, and being a kit with tubular manifolds and large turbo's it does require the motor to be pulled out for installation. Our kit does not include any Fuel components, or Engine Management.

With a proper kit, and the right supporting mods, people have made 1033rwhp on a 3.5L VQ @ 30psi

Fastest Current 1/4 mile time with a SP Twin Turbo Kit: [email protected] on the stock 6speed transmission! Fastest 6speed in the world.


Thanks Chris!! Mods should be adding this to the first page.
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 11:37 AM   #177
SlideFox
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chopperman View Post
Lightly used Evc5 shipped for $335. Good deal?
Not bad!! Seeing is that a new EVC6 is over $550!!
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 01:19 PM   #178
SlideFox
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Updated!!
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 03:58 PM   #179
mpcstuff
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
mpcstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: WS, NC
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Slide Fox. Thank you for all the input.
mpcstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 07:10 PM   #180
SlideFox
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
SlideFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpcstuff View Post
Slide Fox. Thank you for all the input.
No Problem...
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Tags
302, cjm, connecting, fmu, forcedinduction, fuel, gt35r, installation, kit, motors, return, rods, singles, stock, system, turbo, twininlet, vq35de

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: