Notices
Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

EGT guage vs Oil Temp guage

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2010, 07:22 AM
Synjn

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default EGT guage vs Oil Temp guage

I looked a little, couldnt find a thread on this. Don't flame me.

I want another guage to monitor my engine. I have an aem a/f and boost guage. I'm new to FI, and I dont particuly like how random the A/f reading is. At wot i'm at a steady 11.5, yes, but it flutuates so much. I take my foot off the throttle and it may jump to 16 for a sec then level off at 14.5 or so. I feel like can't rely on it.

Would it be a bad idea to take out the a/f guage and replace it with a egt and oil temp?

What i'd really like is a cylinder head temp guage to monitor "cold shock" to the top end. Any thoughts?
Old 01-28-2010, 07:58 AM
Darkstreets

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

EGT will give you a HINT as to what your a/f ratio might be. **Higher then average** gas temperature could mean a Lean ratio and vice versa.

By a/f gauge tell me you mean Wideband..... because actual a/f gauges arent precise worth ****. Aem has been know to have wideband sensors AND gauge goes bad (Aem UEGO). If its possible try and swap it out for one you know works well and see if that changes anything. But a wideband is a must to monitor your A/f at all times.

** there edited...

Last edited by Darkstreets; 01-28-2010 at 08:39 AM.
Old 01-28-2010, 08:21 AM
Synjn

http://www.avweb.com/news/maint/egt_..._198791-1.html
Old 01-28-2010, 08:46 AM
FineWine

If you want to add a EGT, by all means... but I would not replace the AFR with an EGT. My AFRs will be in my cubby, so I'll only be actively monitoring them during spirited driving. I'll be adding an EGT ans swapping it into my pillar pod, so I can see quickly if it spikes.
Old 01-28-2010, 09:42 AM
thom000001

This has been addressed in some other threads

Downfall to EGT gauges is there is no good benchmark for what is safe vs not safe.