Notices
Tuning Reflashes, Piggybacks, Standalone ECUs

E85

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2009, 05:55 AM
cwylie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default E85

Has anyone ever tuned a VQ for E35 with a Utec. I have 600cc injectors coming and it should be plenty of fuel for my 350-370whp. Any advantage of going to E85?
Old 01-26-2009, 04:40 PM
txshldm
B8BB8B88

I believe E85 burns like 35% faster then regular pump gas. You may need bigger injectors to run E85. I have no experience with E85, however i know the supra guys LOVE it.
Old 01-26-2009, 04:47 PM
wannabuy350z

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

e85 is almost like running race gas. and you will need bigger injectors and larger pump.
Old 01-26-2009, 04:50 PM
thom000001

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

We're gonna see what we can make with my setup...

With the triple pumps, and 1000cc, should be able to do 700rwhp.

tom
Old 01-26-2009, 05:49 PM
NISMO_558

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by cwylie
Has anyone ever tuned a VQ for E35 with a Utec. I have 600cc injectors coming and it should be plenty of fuel for my 350-370whp. Any advantage of going to E85?
can you not afford premium?
Old 01-27-2009, 10:54 AM
cwylie

I sure as hell hope so or I am in big trouble. I know alot of cars are running e85 becuase it equates to I believe 105 octane. Seeing as I have a place that sells it less than a mile from my house I was curious if anyone has tuned with it.
Old 01-27-2009, 10:59 AM
thom000001

350-370 with a vortec is well attainable with 93octane....you'll be using a lot more e85 to make the same numbers and not really have any gain...just more cost.
Old 01-27-2009, 01:35 PM
str8dum1

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

i thought the seals in our fuel system werent designed for e85?
Old 01-27-2009, 05:43 PM
thom000001

You very much need a complete aftermarket fuel system....no rubber lines what-so ever....and even a speacial braided line with the proper tubing in it for the e85 (has to do with the alcohol content i believe)