Notices
G35/G37 General discussion and news for Infiniti's G or for full Forums check out MyG37.com or G35Driver.com

Rebuild + Twin Turbo Project

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2021, 06:48 PM
Grimvanni25

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rebuild + Twin Turbo Project

Hello everyone, long time G35driver lurker here. New to the 350z site! Been on the fence about getting rid of the car for some time but money came in and I've decided to pick the project back up! I've slowly started buying parts to piece together a Rev-Up motor to build outside of the vehicle. I started by buying a non rev up long block motor for $100 on Offerup. The dude didn't know much about it but said it had rod knock. After disassembly it turns out it spun a rod bearing. But being that I was going to take the block and crank to the machine shop I asked if I could get the crank turned and use oversize bearings. The answer was yes and that's where my project began.

I also want to add I am not a mechanic and my day job is I.T. Network Engineer. I turbo'd the G35 with the TN kit and then the rings went bad, which is what prompted the rebuild. Just a guy who's trying to build up his 16 year old self's dream car.

Here are the parts I've ordered so far and what it cost me with taxes/shipping:
Used non rev-up motor - $100
ACL Rod Bearing +.50mm oversize - $88.44
ACL Race Main Bearing +.25mm oversize - $72.21
ACL Thrust Washers STD.- $13.77
ARP Head Studs - $150
ARP Main Studs - $150
Weisco Pistons - $650
Eagle Connecting Rods - $499.95
HR Head gasket set - $62.74
Block bore - $195
Block pressure check - $125
Crank Turning - $140
Reassemble - $400
Cylinder head remaned. Right - $346.30
Cylinder head remaned. Left - $346.30
Intake Timing Sprocket(s) - $83
Revup timing cover - front - $95.39
Oil Pump - $89.03
Timing Kit/Cam Bolts/Gaskets - $254.09
Water Pump - $50.87
Thermostat & Timing cover gasket - $35.18
New crank bolt - $17.64
Valve Covers - $100.35
Intake Gears - $319.21