Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

RevUp Oil Consumption TSB and discussion

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2010, 04:55 PM
dmemenza

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Hey everyone!

I'm new to this thread and I'm so glad I found one on my350z, as the one on g35driver, wouldn't allow me to post replies to the thread. Anyhow, I have a 06 G35 6MT. It has ~54,000 miles. I too, am concerned about the OC problem. I've explained my concerns to both Infiniti service reps and Nissan service reps and I've heard everything from oil pump being too cold (during cold weather) at startup to pump oil through the motor after the car has been sitting for a couple of days; to timing chain noises at startup. Recently, the service rep at the local Nissan dealer told me that a little oil consumption for these motors is normal and I should have nothing to worry about, especially since I change my oil at every 3,000 miles. I tried reading the oil stick myself a couple of times, but its not quite easy to read. Question: Is there a trick to reading the oil stick? Any suggestions? If you all could give any pointers on how to effectively read the oil stick, I would sincerely appreciate it!!! I'm still around the 1,000 mile range from last oil change, so I heard there is an Infiniti dealer that is supposed to be really good in my area. A little driving distance away, but if they are good, its worth it to me. I was considering giving them a phone call to discuss my concerns and to see if I could make an appointment for the oil consumption test. Thanks in advance everyone for the pointers on how to read the oil stick!!
Old 03-29-2010, 05:07 AM
06CPV35

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by ownZ
Wow. I would expect the 100000. I took it in at 53000 5yrs. I'd be screwed if it were only 24000 2 years and happened exactly like this time.