Notices

5AT to 6MT Swap INFO, ***, DIY, GUIDE Thread!

Old 03-21-2015, 02:17 PM
  #101  
Steven Sampaga
Registered User
 
Steven Sampaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 32
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Love the write up!
Steven Sampaga is offline  
Old 07-13-2015, 06:29 AM
  #102  
AbyteZero
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Canada, Qc
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Here what I did to bypass the clutch pedal on my G35 sedan, which is almost the same car...

==============

Context:
G35 Sedan A/T 2003 with parts from Coupe M/T 2003 [ Engine + Transmission + Computer (driver side under the steering) + Computer (passager side over his feet)]

-------

Note that the wires numbers may be slightly different.

Just connected #26 to #43 according to this document and it works :-D

So I jumped inside the IPDM box the wire #43 to the empty #26 (because IPDM from the G35 sedan A/T)

Page 12
http://www.nicoclub.com/FSM/G35/Sedan/2003/sc.pdf
AbyteZero is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 05:32 AM
  #103  
yosip1115
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CT, RI, MA
Posts: 518
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Resmarted View Post
What?

Theres a fawking plug on the OEM auto, that is identical to the plug on the manual. You just cut the factory wire in the middle somewhere and extend it.

I don't even know what you guys are on about
Then what was the OP talking about with the green/orange striped wire? If you can just use the PNSS wires from the AT harness why would you think about tapping into the green/orange stripe at the ECU to run to the PNSS on the MT?

I found a green/orange stripe under the steering column but I'm doubtful that is the same green/orange stripe. Looking for a good place to tap into that wire that isn't at the ECU for ease of install, unless what you are saying is true (confirming my theory earlier) It's tough figuring this ish out without the AT around anymore. Please confirm that there is one to extend from the AT harness for both the PNSS and the reverse lights or I will dig for the ECU so my cruise control will work.

Thanks
yosip1115 is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 08:49 AM
  #104  
thatone350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: america
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default re-flash

I have all the parts to do a 6 speed manual swap but do I absolutely need to reflash my Auto ECU?
thatone350z is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 09:05 AM
  #105  
thatone350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: america
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JaE35z View Post
thanks for all the helpful information, the swap i was inquiring about is up and running
did you reflash your ecu?
thatone350z is offline  
Old 11-12-2015, 09:40 PM
  #106  
drvqz33
Registered User
iTrader: (10)
 
drvqz33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 837
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by thatone350z View Post
I have all the parts to do a 6 speed manual swap but do I absolutely need to reflash my Auto ECU?
No you don't. 5AT ECU will work just fine. If any codes pop up, you can always clear them for good. I'm using the 5AT ECU, and have not had any issues.
drvqz33 is offline  
Old 11-16-2015, 02:34 PM
  #107  
thatone350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: america
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by drvqz33 View Post
No you don't. 5AT ECU will work just fine. If any codes pop up, you can always clear them for good. I'm using the 5AT ECU, and have not had any issues.
thank you so much haha you just saved me so much time and money but last question, so your running the 5AT harness as well? or did you go with the 6MT harness
thatone350z is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 11:34 AM
  #108  
jdm-v35
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jdm-v35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 641
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

You use the 5at harness, only thing is cruise control wont work unless you connect the neutral position switch. and you need to wire up the reverse lights and IPDM.
jdm-v35 is offline  
Old 01-04-2016, 12:07 PM
  #109  
Edd132
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rubber Grommet w/bracket - OEM from any MT Nissan.

Do i need this?
What is it exsactly?
Where does it go ?
Edd132 is offline  
Old 01-11-2016, 02:11 PM
  #110  
yosip1115
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CT, RI, MA
Posts: 518
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
Default High Idle

Anybody experience a high idle after swapping?

95% sure it is not a vacuum leak, did some testing (smoke test)

Idle is smooth, just sits at ~1050

Wondering if I need to hook up the PNSS wire to get rid of this, but the car's in hibernation for the winter.

p0507

Edit: It was the PNSS. Perhaps mine was different since it was a G35X, but I swapped the engine/tranny into a Z and it worked fine without a high idle.

Last edited by yosip1115; 12-27-2017 at 03:02 PM.
yosip1115 is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 07:22 AM
  #111  
DEMoLITIoN
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 707
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Edd132 View Post
Do i need this?
What is it exsactly?
Where does it go ?
It covers the shifter hole when you switch to 6MT shifter hole

Originally Posted by yosip1115 View Post
Anybody experience a high idle after swapping?

95% sure it is not a vacuum leak, did some testing (smoke test)

Idle is smooth, just sits at ~1050

Wondering if I need to hook up the PNSS wire to get rid of this, but the car's in hibernation for the winter.

p0507
My idle is fine with 5AT everything. A few years later and my 6mt swap is wonderful.
DEMoLITIoN is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 07:38 AM
  #112  
yosip1115
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CT, RI, MA
Posts: 518
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DEMoLITIoN View Post
It covers the shifter hole when you switch to 6MT shifter hole



My idle is fine with 5AT everything. A few years later and my 6mt swap is wonderful.
Did you hook up the neutral safety switch wire? I may have to contact my tuner. He kept blaming it on vacuum leaks... A lot happened at once... New motor, 6MT swap, TT kit. Runs fine, perfect, just idles high.

Edit: it was the PNSS

Last edited by yosip1115; 12-27-2017 at 03:01 PM.
yosip1115 is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 01:35 PM
  #113  
DEMoLITIoN
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 707
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by yosip1115 View Post
Did you hook up the neutral safety switch wire? I may have to contact my tuner. He kept blaming it on vacuum leaks... A lot happened at once... New motor, 6MT swap, TT kit. Runs fine, perfect, just idles high.
No, I didnt wire up PNP (used for cruise control) or my reverse lights. They absolutely have no effect on engine operation.
DEMoLITIoN is offline  
Old 01-14-2016, 06:00 PM
  #114  
yosip1115
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CT, RI, MA
Posts: 518
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DEMoLITIoN View Post
No, I didnt wire up PNP (used for cruise control) or my reverse lights. They absolutely have no effect on engine operation.
Interesting, thanks for helping me clear that up. Saves me some time and disappointment.

Edit. Hook up the PNSS. It was what caused my high idle issue and p1000

Last edited by yosip1115; 12-27-2017 at 03:01 PM.
yosip1115 is offline  
Old 02-15-2016, 04:04 PM
  #115  
thatone350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: america
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default wont start

i did this swap im at the end of finishing it but car wont start it cranks fast but wont fire
thatone350z is offline  
Old 02-15-2016, 07:12 PM
  #116  
Edd132
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Same here.

Im finished with it, and my car turns on after a few trues but i have a me hanic coming to look at it tomorrow .
Originally Posted by thatone350z View Post
i did this swap im at the end of finishing it but car wont start it cranks fast but wont fire
Edd132 is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 06:29 AM
  #117  
DEMoLITIoN
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 707
Posts: 201
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Edd132 View Post
Im finished with it, and my car turns on after a few trues but i have a me hanic coming to look at it tomorrow .
Originally Posted by thatone350z View Post
i did this swap im at the end of finishing it but car wont start it cranks fast but wont fire
how did you guys do the wiring?
DEMoLITIoN is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 08:54 AM
  #118  
thatone350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: america
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DEMoLITIoN View Post
how did you guys do the wiring?
i tested the spark and found out i dont have one so im pickin up spark plugs today ill let you guys know how it goes
thatone350z is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 12:24 PM
  #119  
Edd132
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Plugs arent it

I have new spark plugs. I did it from the ignition to the switch nd then to gray nd red wire
Edd132 is offline  
Old 02-18-2016, 07:14 AM
  #120  
thatone350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: america
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Edd132 View Post
I have new spark plugs. I did it from the ignition to the switch nd then to gray nd red wire
i did a manual/new VQ and i guess i ****ed the cam position sensor up in the process pluggin the harness bqck in so i replaced them and it started right up, thank you for the write up just perfect haha
thatone350z is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 5AT to 6MT Swap INFO, ***, DIY, GUIDE Thread!


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: