Notices

5AT to 6MT Swap INFO, ***, DIY, GUIDE Thread!

Old 02-18-2016, 08:07 AM
  #121  
Edd132
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by thatone350z View Post
i did a manual/new VQ and i guess i ****ed the cam position sensor up in the process pluggin the harness bqck in so i replaced them and it started right up, thank you for the write up just perfect haha

My is still down, i replaced the cam and crank sensors (3 total) nd replaced the battery and spark plugs and its still not firing up first try.
Edd132 is offline  
Old 02-25-2016, 10:10 AM
  #122  
Edd132
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Car cranks and turns on randomly

Did anyone have problems turning on the car.

It cranks all the time and it will always turn on but sometimes it takes more times than others..

Has new crank/cam sensors, spark plugs and battery.

Car runs great.

I only wired in the ingnition to the clutch and to the gray/red wire.
-was there anything else that i have to wire ? Or was something done wrong?
Edd132 is offline  
Old 03-16-2016, 01:27 PM
  #123  
slow_350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Greetings guys! i have gotten a cd009 off a rev up g35 sedan fairly cheap! Next i put my list together of stuff i need to buy:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...aca-rtUPMv6HZs

someone who has done this swap please look over this and let me know if i need anything else?
slow_350z is offline  
Old 03-17-2016, 01:53 AM
  #124  
Justin100
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 629
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by slow_350z View Post
Greetings guys! i have gotten a cd009 off a rev up g35 sedan fairly cheap! Next i put my list together of stuff i need to buy:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...aca-rtUPMv6HZs

someone who has done this swap please look over this and let me know if i need anything else?
the driveshaft you can buy on ebay for....100 bucks.....

home depot you can buy those flywheel bolts assuming you know the thread pitch and length i prefer a hex head using a mm tq wrench to torque it down to required spec....i had 1 flywheel bolt and was outraged at the price at the dealership for one of those bolts and i hate using a torx star bit to torque it very prone to stripping the torx star bolt easily and if it strips, you have to torch the bolt out.....

i switched my car from auto to manual when i built my motor and put my twin turbo kit on I don't think 600-700whp can be had on a auto trans.......

it looks like your list shows everything needed. you dont need a new rear diff you can use the existing diff.

Last edited by Justin100; 03-17-2016 at 02:07 AM.
Justin100 is offline  
Old 03-17-2016, 06:19 AM
  #125  
slow_350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Justin100 View Post
the driveshaft you can buy on ebay for....100 bucks.....

home depot you can buy those flywheel bolts assuming you know the thread pitch and length i prefer a hex head using a mm tq wrench to torque it down to required spec....i had 1 flywheel bolt and was outraged at the price at the dealership for one of those bolts and i hate using a torx star bit to torque it very prone to stripping the torx star bolt easily and if it strips, you have to torch the bolt out.....

i switched my car from auto to manual when i built my motor and put my twin turbo kit on I don't think 600-700whp can be had on a auto trans.......

it looks like your list shows everything needed. you dont need a new rear diff you can use the existing diff.

Thanks for the info on that! saved some cash on the drive line. Last question, Until i start the swap. I was told i need to re tune the car, as well that the MT drive shaft will not match the auto diff something about it being different. Ohh and in the how to they had to cut some plate out for the G, do we have todo that on the z? Or is it just kinda bolt in?
slow_350z is offline  
Old 03-17-2016, 01:59 PM
  #126  
Justin100
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 629
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by slow_350z View Post
Thanks for the info on that! saved some cash on the drive line. Last question, Until i start the swap. I was told i need to re tune the car, as well that the MT drive shaft will not match the auto diff something about it being different. Ohh and in the how to they had to cut some plate out for the G, do we have todo that on the z? Or is it just kinda bolt in?
you dont have to do a reflash the car will run just fine. the driveshaft connects to 4 bolts to the auto diff thats it.

you dont have to cut out a plate, you will need to cut the bottom of the metal piece to make room for the shifter, look at pictures from the earlier pages of this thread.

oh yeah their is 1 item missing on your list, you will either need to buy a MT transmission crossmember, or turn your auto transmission crossmember 180 degrees and cut the black bracket inside and get a special bolt from home depot to latch the 4 bolts to hold the transmission mount.

Last edited by Justin100; 03-17-2016 at 02:03 PM.
Justin100 is offline  
Old 03-24-2016, 07:05 AM
  #127  
jdm-v35
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jdm-v35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 641
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

I did the swap on my G35 a while back but finally got around to putting in the 6mt cluster to finish it off. The cluster works fine but makes things not work. dome lights, headlight auto off and window tuck don't work with the 6mt cluster installed.

It seems like it doesn't let the car see a proper "door open" signal. There must be a small wiring change somewhere that makes the clusters different...

Not sure if it applies to the Z as well, but curious if anyone had similar issues and if anyone found a way to make it work?
jdm-v35 is offline  
Old 03-24-2016, 10:01 AM
  #128  
yosip1115
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CT, RI, MA
Posts: 518
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Justin100 View Post
home depot you can buy those flywheel bolts assuming you know the thread pitch and length i prefer a hex head using a mm tq wrench to torque it down to required spec....i had 1 flywheel bolt and was outraged at the price at the dealership for one of those bolts and i hate using a torx star bit to torque it very prone to stripping the torx star bolt easily and if it strips, you have to torch the bolt out.....
Seriously... You trying to get someone killed... Home depot for flywheel bolts???
yosip1115 is offline  
Old 03-25-2016, 01:29 AM
  #129  
Justin100
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 629
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by yosip1115 View Post
Seriously... You trying to get someone killed... Home depot for flywheel bolts???
nothing wrong with using home depot or lowes bolts, they sell both metric and standard there.

as long as thread pitch and length of bolt is exactly the same. use red loctite on the end of each bolt will hold it in place when flywheel is moving.

the cost per bolt cost $.50 to 1.00 versus

the dealership charging for star bit oem bolts that easily strip when torquing down to required torque spec on the flywheel the cost per bolt is somewhere in the realm of $7.00 to $13.00 bucks per bolt.....i almost stripped the oem flywheel bolts when torquing down to 65 ft lbs so i threw those bolts away....went with the home depot type instead..

i used tons and tons of home depot bolts on my Z while doing the conversion because home depot is right by my house can pick them up on the same day and the price is much more affordable.

i dont want to drive 13 miles to the dealership to pick up these overpriced bolts and have to wait atleast 1 day because they are all special order.

Last edited by Justin100; 03-25-2016 at 01:31 AM.
Justin100 is offline  
Old 03-25-2016, 05:02 AM
  #130  
jdm-v35
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jdm-v35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 641
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

I would specify though, that if you go to home depot you should not just buy the simple zinc bolts. According to FSM, most of the oem engine bolts are grade 5 or grade 8 or better. Those zinc bolts will snap easily.

However myself, anything internal on the engine I will use either OEM or ARP to be safe. Anything outside the engine and not holding power - home depot bolts are fine.
jdm-v35 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
yosip1115 (03-30-2016)
Old 03-25-2016, 06:52 AM
  #131  
Justin100
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 629
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jdm-v35 View Post
I would specify though, that if you go to home depot you should not just buy the simple zinc bolts. According to FSM, most of the oem engine bolts are grade 5 or grade 8 or better. Those zinc bolts will snap easily.

However myself, anything internal on the engine I will use either OEM or ARP to be safe. Anything outside the engine and not holding power - home depot bolts are fine.

i definitely agree with what your saying no way in hell would i use home depot bolts for anything internal for my engine. I used (ARP L19 Head studs and ARP main studs for my block) using home depot bolts for the flywheel i dont see much of a problem with it.

i used these same grade 8.8 metric bolts to hold a 400 lb engine on my engine stand. and when i took my engine off to put it in my car all 4 of the home depot bolts are still straight and in one piece. so this idea of them snapping is something i cannot imagine happening for my flywheel especially when i used like 8 of them with red loctite and its holding up 35 lbs of a twin disk clutch?

Last edited by Justin100; 03-25-2016 at 07:36 AM.
Justin100 is offline  
Old 03-25-2016, 07:49 AM
  #132  
jdm-v35
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jdm-v35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 641
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

high grade bolts for the flywheel/drivetrain are a must no matter where you get them from. not only are they holding up the clutch/flywheel, but are also holding all the power you put down. if they are not high grade and high shear strength, they will definitely twist and snap. The bolts in the open boxes on the shelves, and not in the drawers would have this issue.

I opted for the factory flywheel bolts, but only because i'm OCD about using only OEM grade or better parts, including bolts etc.

I was not in a rush though and collected all the parts and ordered online before actually doing my swap. I am using a multi-disc clutch as well. Exedy Triple disc carbon.
jdm-v35 is offline  
Old 03-25-2016, 07:52 AM
  #133  
jdm-v35
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jdm-v35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 641
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

BTW Justin, did you install a 6mt gauge cluster as well?

If so, did you need to rewire anything for it to work properly?

Not sure if this applies to Z's but installing the 6mt cluster in my 03 G causes weird things to happen with the door jamb switches causing dome lights and auto-off headlights not to work.
jdm-v35 is offline  
Old 03-25-2016, 08:37 AM
  #134  
Justin100
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 629
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

I cant answer that question, I kept my auto gauge cluster i didnt want to waste money on a 6mt cluster i didnt see any real benefit other than that blinking red light when your nearing red line and when it shows you each gear on the little orange box.
Justin100 is offline  
Old 03-25-2016, 08:53 AM
  #135  
jdm-v35
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jdm-v35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 641
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

I just didn't like the blank screen. again.. OCD thing so it bothers me lol
jdm-v35 is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 12:46 PM
  #136  
Battleship350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 24
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hello, Not sure if the op is active on here but the original post says a "Drive-line" is needed is this a drive shaft because i cannot find any such thing as the driveline. Also is the rubber grommet needed for the shifter a dust boot? or where can i find this grommet and bracket, thank you.

Last edited by Battleship350z; 04-10-2016 at 12:47 PM.
Battleship350z is offline  
Old 04-10-2016, 12:51 PM
  #137  
Edd132
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Battleship350z View Post
Hello, Not sure if the op is active on here but the original post says a "Drive-line" is needed is this a drive shaft because i cannot find any such thing as the driveline. Also is the rubber grommet needed for the shifter a dust boot? or where can i find this grommet and bracket, thank you.
The driveline is just the front part of the driveshaft, so you can get the whole driveshaft nut you will only nees the part that connects to the tranny. And the gromment im not 100% on it but i didnt buy anything with that name, and mine is complete.
Edd132 is offline  
Old 04-12-2016, 11:31 AM
  #138  
jdm-v35
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
jdm-v35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Tree, CO
Posts: 641
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

If you don't know what is meant by "driveline" you probably should not be attempting the swap. It is not a simple plug and play ordeal and once you start you need to finish it. theres really no going back from doing this.
jdm-v35 is offline  
Old 04-13-2016, 06:50 AM
  #139  
Battleship350z
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 24
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Edd132 View Post
The driveline is just the front part of the driveshaft, so you can get the whole driveshaft nut you will only nees the part that connects to the tranny. And the gromment im not 100% on it but i didnt buy anything with that name, and mine is complete.
Awesome thank you, do you know where to find just the line as I can only find complete drive shafts?
Battleship350z is offline  
Old 04-13-2016, 07:00 AM
  #140  
Edd132
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Battleship350z View Post
Awesome thank you, do you know where to find just the line as I can only find complete drive shafts?

People sell theres on ebay.
Im from cali and i ordered all my parts from FL, ZXAutoCenter . Thats the shop if you wanna ask for parts i got the whole drive shaft for 100 and $20 shipping. Only because i wasnt so sure if i needed the shaft complete. But i didnt and i used only the front part that goes into the tranny. Just ask for the front part and im sure he will have it (:

Last edited by Edd132; 04-13-2016 at 07:02 AM.
Edd132 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
Battleship350z (04-13-2016)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 5AT to 6MT Swap INFO, ***, DIY, GUIDE Thread!


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: