Notices
North Central Wisconsin, Michigan, Ohio, Illinois , Indiana, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa

Detroit Area Z List part 3

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2010, 06:06 PM
young Jee(Z)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

^^ the large Tube above the pipe is secondary resonator...it sits above the exhuast.
Old 02-13-2010, 07:20 PM
MikeNT256

Does air just go into that resonator and bounce back into the exhaust? Doesn't seem like a good design at first glance. Then again, I have no knowledge of those exhausts at all.
Old 02-14-2010, 09:58 AM
Phreakdout

The official name of the upper canister is a "branch tuner or Hemholtz chamber". In all honesty, this is kind of a gimmick. The intention of a tuning can like this is to remove a specific period of unpleasent droaning noise. The placement of the can in the system, the diameter of the primary branch tube, the length of the tube and if the tube is perforated inside the can determines it's effectivity.

HKS put this branch tuner on their system. Then Ningbo Smart made a clone system in China using the same concept. This looks like their work. They simply removed the muffler and welded this thing to a straight pipe. If you cut it off and welded the hole shut, it would be marginally louder.